Two-fer Tuesday: Chapter 2: Pasty Vegetable Stew

Last spring, I wrote about making a soup version of pasty (https://thewhiteminotaur.wordpress.com/2023/06/08/pasty-soup/). I never did get dumplings made to complete that. But early this winter, I reclaimed pasty soup from the freezer and got two days worth of lunches out of it.

This is their story.

The first batch has been almost too salty as a result of the ham stock. Casting about for a solution, I decided two cups of fresh, mixed vegetables should solve that problem. There were a bunch of veggies in the fridge that needed to be dealt with. This ended up a fine solution.

The soup sawed in a Dutch oven while I added the new veggies. A few hours cooked everything thoroughly. The pasty soup was now thinner, but still has a stew-like consistency. Best of all, that saltiness had diminished!

I drained the pot and stuck the final product in the fridge. It ended up as the next day’s lunch. Good fare for a cold day.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started